Login with Facebook         Create Account


    Tchaikovsky's "Romeo and Juliet Overture" and Franz Liszt's "A Faust Symphony"

    Presented by MIT Summer Philharmonic Orchestra at MIT's Kresge Auditorium

    August 14, 2010



    Come attend a concert by the MIT Summer Philharmonic Orchestra with two musical masterpieces about lovers who were not meant to be! Tchaikovsky's "Romeo and Juliet Overture" is a rousing interpretation of William Shakespeare's tale, depicting two young people, drawn together by love and kept apart by feud. Liszt's "A Faust Symphony" enthralls with Faust's quest for love, internally, spiritually, and in worldly pleasures. Gretchen and Mephistopheles tempt him to his eventual downfall. The MIT Summer Philharmonic Orchestra (MITSPO) is celebrating its 15th year creating passionate music! Don't miss this opportunity to hear love (and loss!) come alive on Saturday, August 14, 2010, at 8:00 P.M. in MIT's Kresge Auditorium! Admission is free of charge -- no ticket is necessary -- and the hall is accessible by public transportation. Limited parking is available. For more information, visit MITSPO's website at www.mitspo.org. For a map to Kresge Auditorium, visit http://bit.ly/cafpK5. We hope to see you in our audience on August 14!

    MIT's Kresge Auditorium

    48 Massachusetts Ave
    Cambridge, MA 02139

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:


    General Day and Time Info:

    8:00 PM

    Accessibility Information: Currently, no accessibility information is available for this event.

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2014 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback