Login with Facebook         Create Account


    All Beethoven Celebration

    Presented by at The Longy School of Music

    December 12, 2010


    All Beethoven Celebration

    In mid-December BCMS celebrates Beethoven’s birthday with a program that features three consecutive opuses of his that occupy an interesting position on the cusp between his middle and last periods. Written at a time of immense anger and deep despondence, the “Serioso” String Quartet (Op. 95) is a quick, condensed look into Beethoven’s soul. The lyrical Violin Sonata in G major (Op. 96) ends with a Haydnesque surprise and anticipates the more compact forms of Beethoven’s later years. In the “Archduke” Piano Trio (Op. 97) Beethoven employed a warm and emotional style with broadly sung melodies and appealing dance rhythms to bid farewell to the aristocratic gestures of the past and look forward to a new era of music-making by professional musicians and enjoyment for the public.

    Beethoven: String Quartet in F minor, Opus. 95, “Serioso”
    Beethoven: Violin Sonata in G major Opus. 96
    Beethoven: Piano Trio in B-flat major, Opus. 97, “Archduke”

    Ida Levin, Jennifer Frautschi, violins / Dimitri Murrath, viola
    Marc Johnson, cello / Benjamin Hochman, piano

    The Longy School of Music

    27 Garden Street
    Cambridge, MA 02138

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    $33, general admission. $32 for WGBH members and seniors; $10 for students.

    General Day and Time Info:

    3:00 p.m.

    Phone: 617.349.0086

    Accessibility Information:

    Official Website

    Connect with this Organization:
    Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Blog  |  DONATE

    Facebook Comments

    Member Reviews

    There are currently no reviews/comments for this event. Be the first to add a review/comment , and let folks know what you think!

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2014 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback