Login with Facebook         Create Account


    Classics II Legendary Love Stories

    Presented by at Barnstable Performing Arts Center

    November 6 - November 7, 2010


    Classics II Legendary Love Stories

    Legendary Love Stories
    A Suite of Romantic Expressions

    Jung-Ho Pak, Conductor
    Natasha Korsakova, Violin

    Mikhail Glinka
    Overture to Russlan and Ludmilla

    Max Bruch
    Concerto No. 1 in G minor for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 26

    Sergei Prokofiev
    Suite from Romeo and Juliet (selections)

    The lively clattering of knives, forks, and plates at a wedding celebration resounds in the furious violin lines in Glinka’s Overture to Russlan and Ludmilla, a complex version of the “sleeping beauty” legend. With its airborne excitement and vivid characterization, Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet ballet score powerfully expresses Shakespeare’s tragic tale of star-crossed lovers. The captivating Natasha Korsakova astounds in Bruch’s rich and seductive Violin Concerto No.1, a searing work fueled by the composer’s deepest emotions.

    Natasha Korsakova, Violin
    Virtuoso violinist Natasha Korsakova, of Russian-Greek descent, is one of Europe’s “best kept secrets.” Her playing has been described as a "sinfully beautiful listening experience.” The lovely young violinist, who speaks six languages, currently is a coveted soloist internationally with orchestras, music festivals, and performing arts series.

    “Korsakova plays with authority beyond her years, handing in a performance that is by turns urgent and powerful and rhapsodic.”

    Barnstable Performing Arts Center

    744 West Main Street
    Barnstable, MA 02661

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    $26-$61 each

    General Day and Time Info:

    Sat: 8pm Sun: 3pm

    Phone: 508-362-1111

    Accessibility Information:

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2014 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback