Login with Facebook         Create Account


    Falla and Brahms

    Presented by at Symphony Hall

    November 4 - November 9, 2010


    Falla and Brahms

    Spanish conductor Rafael Fruhbeck de Burgos returns to lead music from the Spanish composer Manuel de Falla. Sung in Catalan, Atlantida ("Atlantis"), an epic of the lost continent and its rediscovery by Columbus, was Falla's magnum opus, begun in 1927 and left incomplete at his death in 1946. The Spanish composer Ernesto Halffter completed a version that was premiered in 1976. Maestro Fruhbeck has devised a 35-minute vocal-orchestral suite almost solely from Falla's original music from the Prologue and Parts I and III, with focus on the significant episodes for chorus. The program brings the BSO debuts of two young American singers, soprano Alexandra Coku and bass-baritone Kyle Ketelsen. The second half of the program is the great Symphony No. 2 of Johannes Brahms.

    Symphony Hall

    301 Massachusetts Avenue
    Boston, MA 02115

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:


    General Day and Time Info:


    Phone: 888-266-1200

    Accessibility Information: Currently, no accessibility information is available for this event.

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2014 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback