Login with Facebook         Create Account


    pNEUma: A concert of music for winds, strings, and silicon

    Presented by Department of Music, Northeastern University at The Fenway Center, Northeastern University

    November 13, 2010


    pNEUma: A concert of music for winds, strings, and silicon

    Featuring music by guest composer Bruce Christian Bennett (Pacifica, CA)
    and selections by Northeastern faculty composers Anthony De Ritis, Allen Feinstein, Mike Frengel, Hubert Ho, Matti Kovler Brian Robison, and Michele Zaccagnini

    Featuring performers Jessi Rosinski, flute; Rane Moore and Allen Feinstein, clarinets; Tom Dambly, trumpet; Matti Kovler, voice and piano; Patrick Owen, 'cello; Jeffrey Means, percussion; Mike Frengel, guitar; and Brian Robison, theremin

    To the ancient Greeks, the word "pneuma" meant the animating warm breath in the cosmos and the body, our spirit or soul. The ten musical works on this concert present different facets of air in motion, ranging from the literal use of wind instruments to more abstract electroacoustic representations of singing, speaking, and snoring.

    Guest composer Bruce Christian Bennett is a native of Seattle currently residing in the San Francisco Bay Area. His works have been played throughout the United States and abroad by such groups as the Arditti String Quartet, the Del Sol String Quartet, Earplay, and the Ensemble InterContemporain. His honors include a 2003 Fromm Foundation commission and the Prix Maurice Ravel at the American Conservatory at Fontainebleau in 1993. His interests and activities include compositions and improvisations for live, interactive, electroacoustic music.

    Michele Zaccagnini: Bilbop for flute solo
    Bruce Christian Bennett: Stretch (2001) for computer-generated sound
    Bruce Christian Bennett: Speaking in Tongues (1992) for computer-generated sound
    Hubert Ho: Septic / Ice / Snow (2007) for flute, clarinet, ’cello, and percussion
    Brian Robison: Hundenschnarchenwiegenlied (2010) for theremin and electronics
    Allen Feinstein: Duo for two clarinets
    Matti Kovler: The Soul Descends for voice, piano, and live electronic processing
    Anthony De Ritis: Sheng (2010) for ’cello and four-speaker diffusion
    Mike Frengel: And then, Romina … (2000) for prepared electric guitar and electronics
    Bruce Christian Bennett: Translucent night (2008) for trumpet and electronics

    The Fenway Center, Northeastern University

    77 Saint Stephen St
    Boston, MA 02115

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:


    General Day and Time Info:


    Accessibility Information:

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2014 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback