Login with Facebook         Create Account


    Distinguished Writers Series: Ha Jin

    Presented by at Newhouse Center for the Humanities, Green Hall 237, Wellesley College

    March 15, 2011


    Distinguished Writers Series: Ha Jin

    Ha Jin is the award-winning author of five novels, four collections of stories, three volumes of poetry, and one collection of essays. He was raised in the People’s Republic of China and moved to the United States in 1985. He has written exclusively in English since 1990.

    His novels include Waiting, winner of the 1999 National Book Award, and War Trash, winner of the 2005 PEN/Faulkner Award. His story collections include Ocean of Words, winner of the 1996 PEN/Hemingway Award, Under the Red Flag, winner of the Flannery O'Connor Award, and A Good Fall, which was published in 2009. His essay collection, The Writer as Migrant, appeared in 2008. He is currently a professor of English at Boston University.

    The Distinguished Writers Series
    The series reminds the world that reading, writing, conversation and laughter are related arts. The format is simple, the emotional reward complex. The writers read, have a conversation with the series curator, then engage in an open dialogue with the audience.

    “The rigors of creativity are best appreciated at close range in small rooms where ideas swerve and loop and float with the kind of inventiveness and assurance that makes the mind swirl …” -Colin Channer, Series Curator

    Newhouse Center for the Humanities, Green Hall 237, Wellesley College

    106 Central Street
    Wellesley, MA 02481

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:


    General Day and Time Info:

    4:30pm-6pm (app)

    Accessibility Information:

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2014 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback