Login with Facebook         Create Account


    Metropolitan Wind Symphony Band Concert: Major Wind Works

    Presented by at National Heritage Museum

    March 6, 2011


    Metropolitan Wind Symphony Band Concert: Major Wind Works

    The Metropolitan Wind Symphony will continue their 40th season with their Winter Band Concert on Sunday, March 6, 2011 at 2:00 pm, at the National Heritage Museum, 33 Marrett Road, Lexington, MA. MWS Music director Lewis J. Buckley will conduct the program. Featured will be the world premiere of Fanfare for Winds by Kevin Wilt, which won second place in the MWS 40th Season Fanfare Competition, Ghost Train Triptych by Eric Whitacre, and Vientos y Tangos by Michael Gandolfi. Select student musicians will join the MWS in performing Suite of Old American Dances by Robert Russell Bennett, Variations on a Shaker Melody by Aaron Copland, and Sedona by Steve Reineke. Frank L. Battisti will guest conduct the MWS in Flourish for Wind Band, Rhosymedre, and Toccata Marziale, all by Ralph Vaughan Williams. Mr. Buckley will deliver a pre-concert lecture at 1:30 pm.

    National Heritage Museum

    33 Marrett Road
    Lexington, MA 02421

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    Tickets are $18 for adults, $14 for seniors and students with College ID, $6 for children age 5-18

    General Day and Time Info:

    2 pm

    Phone: 617 983-1370

    Accessibility Information:

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2014 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback