Login with Facebook         Create Account


    Brentano String Quartet, Fragments

    Presented by at Shalin Liu Performance Center

    October 16, 2011


    Brentano String Quartet, Fragments

    The Brentano String Quartet performs fragmentary compositions by great composers of the past, accompanied by responses to each by many of the leading composers of our day. The Quartet, described by the Los Angeles Times as “brilliant, virtuosic, and … perfectly meshed in sound” returns to Rockport for this landmark musical event.

    - Fragment by Dufay
    - Response by Charles Wuorinen
    - Bach’s last contrapunctus of Art of Fugue
    - Response by Sofia Gubaidulina
    - Haydn’s String Quartet in D-minor, Op. 103 (2 movements)
    - Response by John Harbison
    - String Quartet fragment by Mozart
    - Response by Vijay Iyer
    - Schubert Quartettsatz in C-minor (D 703), and fragment of Andante movement
    - Response by Bruce Adolphe
    - Shostakovich Quartet movement (from around the time of the 9th quartet)
    - Response by Stephen Hartke


    Shalin Liu Performance Center

    37 Main Street
    Rockport, MA 01966

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    Tickets are $19, $28, and $34.

    General Day and Time Info:


    Phone: 978-546-7391

    Accessibility Information:

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2014 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback