Login with Facebook         Create Account


    Ravel, Arensky and Schubert

    Presented by at Sanders Theatre

    May 13, 2012


    Ravel, Arensky and Schubert

    Ravel Sonata for Violin and Cello
    Arensky Piano Trio in D minor, Op. 32
    Schubert Piano Quintet in A major, D. 667, "The Trout"

    Jonathan Crow, violin Marcus Thompson, viola
    Ronald Thomas, cello Edwin Barker, double bass Mihae Lee, piano

    Dedicated to Debussy, Ravel’s Sonata for Violin and Cello is a fascinating showpiece for the two instruments, each of which carries half the burden of the piece, employing the thinner texture popular with the younger postwar composers. Arensky’s most famous work, the melodious Piano Trio in D minor, inherited Tchaikovsky’s classical outlook with emphasis on craftsmanship, and his sense of symmetry and balance. The “Trout” Quintet gets its name from its best-known fourth movement, a series of six variations on Schubert’s earlier lied Die Forelle (“The Trout”), and is comprised of numerous carefree and spirited tunes.

    Sanders Theatre

    45 Quincy Street
    Memorial Hall, Harvard University
    Cambridge, MA 02138

    Full map and directions

    Phone: 617-349-0086


    Sanders Theatre/Memorial Hall is located at 45 Quincy Street, between Cambridge and Kirkland Streets in Cambridge, a 5 minute walk from Harvard Square.

    There is NO PARKING at Memorial Hall.

    For those traveling to Sanders Theatre by car, check the event listing to see which, if any, parking facility is available for the event you wish to attend.

    Accessibility Information:

    Official Website

    Connect with this Organization:
    Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Blog  |  DONATE

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2014 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback