Login with Facebook         Create Account


    Shostakovich and Tchaikovsky

    Presented by at Symphony Hall

    January 31 - February 5, 2013


    Shostakovich and Tchaikovsky

    Latvian conductor Andris Nelsons makes his BSO debut in these concerts, having previously conducted the orchestra at Carnegie Hall. He is joined by the exciting young Latvian violinist Baiba Skride, who makes her BSO debut as soloist in Shostakovich's Violin Concerto No. 1, which was written in the late 1940s but only premiered in 1955, after Stalin's death helped relax the constraints on artistic expression in the USSR. The second half of the program is devoted to Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 5, the second of his well-known last three symphonies.

    Symphony Hall

    301 Massachusetts Avenue
    Boston, MA 02115

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:


    General Day and Time Info:

    8:00 PM, Friday at 1:30PM

    Phone: 8882661200

    Accessibility Information: Currently, no accessibility information is available for this event.

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2015 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback