Create Account


    Don Byron and Evan Ziporyn: Concerto For Clarinet with the MIT Wind Ensemble

    Presented by Arts at MIT at MIT's Kresge Auditorium

    March 16, 2013


    Don Byron and Evan Ziporyn: Concerto For Clarinet with the MIT Wind Ensemble

     World premiere of Byron’s Concerto for Clarinet; Ives, Fugue in C, Variations on “America”; Mendelssohn, Overture for Winds; Arnold, Four Scottish Dances; Bach, Fugue in G minor (for saxophone ensemble), Sonata No. 1 in G minor, Presto (for clarinet ensemble), arranged by Byron.

    Concert Program
    Stravinsky – Circus Polka
    Bennett – Suite of Old American Dances
    Byron – Concerto for Clarinet and Wind Ensemble (World Premiere)
    Ives/Elkus – The Alcotts
    Bach/Byron – Sonata no. 1 in G minor

    Founded in 1999 by Professor Frederick Harris, the MIT Wind Ensemble (MITWE) is composed of outstanding MIT student musicians studying a wide variety of fields. Since 2001, the MIT Wind Ensemble has commissioned 20 original works by MIT faculty and internationally renowned composers.

    Evan Ziporyn, award-winning composer and clarinetist, is Kenan Sahin Distinguished Professor of Music at MIT.

    MIT's Kresge Auditorium

    48 Massachusetts Ave
    Cambridge, MA 02139

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    General admission: $20
    Other students: $10
    MIT students, faculty and staff: Free
    Tickets available online in advance. Cash at the d

    Phone: 617-253-5351

    Accessibility Information: Currently, no accessibility information is available for this event.

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2015 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback