Create Account


    Kim Kashkashian

    Presented by at New England Consevatory

    March 28, 2013


    Kim Kashkashian

     Kim Kashkashian, faculty violist, is joined by her frequent recital partner, the pianist Lydia Artymiw, for a program of Shostakovich and Schumann. The Shostakovich works include selections from the 24 Preludes, originally composed for Piano, heard for the first time in Boston in transcriptions by composer Lera Auerbach. Also, the very last work the composer wrote, the Sonata for Viola and Piano from 1975, completed just weeks before Shostakovich's death. Its final meditative movement is an Adagio written to commemorate a great composer—Beethoven—and quotes from the Moonlight Sonata.

    Shostakovich: Selections from 24 Preludes,opus 34 (transcribed by Lera Auerbach)

    Schumann: Fantasiestücke

    ShostakovichSonata for Viola and Piano, Opus 147 (1975)

    New England Consevatory

    290 Huntington Avenue
    Boston, MA 02115

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    Free/General Admission

    Phone: 6175851148

    Accessibility Information: Currently, no accessibility information is available for this event.

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2015 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback