Login with Facebook         Create Account


    Rockport Music presents: Appalachian Spring

    Presented by at Shalin Liu Performance Center

    April 7, 2013


    Rockport Music presents: Appalachian Spring

     Appalachian Spring by Aaron Copland (1900-1990) was originally written as the score for a thirteen-member chamber orchestra (double string quartet, bass, flute, clarinet, bassoon, and piano) for a ballet commissioned by Martha Graham and premiered in 1944 at the Library of Congress in Washington DC. Copland received the Pulitzer Prize for Music for the work. Copland originally called the piece Ballet for Martha, but shortly before the premiere Graham suggested the title Appalachian Spring, a phrase from the Hart Crane poem The Dance. The word ‘spring’ in the poem actually refers to a water source, not the season. In 1945 Copland arranged the ballet score as an orchestral suite, and further expanded it in 1954 at the request of Eugene Ormandy.

    Russell Ger conducts Boston Conservatory Orchestra students

    Pre-concert lecture by Dr. Elizabeth Seitz

    Shalin Liu Performance Center

    37 Main Street
    Rockport, MA 01966

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:


    Phone: 978-546-7391

    Accessibility Information: Currently, no accessibility information is available for this event.

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2015 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback