Create Account


    Young Artists Concert

    Presented by Winsor Music

    April 27, 2013


    Young Artists Concert

    Winsor Music’s April 27th concert at St. Paul’s Church in Brookline spans nearly 300 years of music. Artistic Director Peggy Pearson has assembled an eclectic program with an all-star cast to perform music of Bach, Haydn and a world premiere by Eric Nathan. Instrumentation ties the pieces together, as two quartets are followed by a larger ensemble for the Cantata BWV 12 of Johann Sebastian Bach, “Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen,” directed by John Harbison. The April 27th concert is a Young Artist Program and will feature Andrew Lipian, countertenor. Andrew is a native of Grafton, Ohio, and began studying countertenor at 16 years old at the Baldwin Wallace Conservatory of Music. From his early studying, he placed twice in 1st with back-to-back competitions for NATS of Ohio. In 2012, Andrew was a scholar at the Bach Institute of Emmanuel Music in Boston. Recently, he has received an Encouragement Grant from the Metropolitan Opera National Council Competitions and will be appearing at the University of Michigan in April to perform the Brahms “Alto Rhapsody.” Andrew recently graduated from Oberlin College, where he was a student of Kendra Colton. Currently, Andrew coaches with Martin Katz. The concert will also feature the World Premiere of Eric Nathan’s Quartet for Oboe and Strings, a Winsor Music commission. Eric (b. 1983) is a prize-winning composer based in New York. His compositions have been performed and featured internationally by music festivals and featured on NPR’s radio show “From the Top” and WQXR’s Q2 Radio. In demand for commissions, he was approached in 2011 on the recommendation of John Harbison to compose a quartet for Winsor Music. The only limitations imposed were the instruments: oboe, violin, viola and cello. Upon its completion, Eric Nathan described the work: I think of my Quartet for Oboe and Strings as a sort of theatrical play. I treat the oboe and string trio as characters in a drama, engaging them in a series of dialogues and conversations that follow an emotional arc and narrative trajectory. While I didn’t have a specific story in mind writing this piece, my work follows a narrative in the abstract – the characters lead us on an emotional journey, one that leaves us someplace new by the end, with memories of the musical events and interactions that have transpired. Eric was a student of John Harbison at the Aspen Music Festival and at Tanglewood in 2011. John has great admiration for the music of the young composer: Among our recent Tanglewood Fellows, Eric Nathan is prized for the authenticity and clarity of his harmonies and his genuine gift for line…Ten years forward, I believe we will still be getting strong and distinctive music form Eric Nathan, when many flashier names are quieting down. Bach composed Cantata BWV 12 in 1714, upon his promotion to concertmaster at the court of Weimar. Craig Smith, in his notes about this extraordinary work, wrote: [This is Bach’s] first setting of a Salomo Franck text. Franck was the greatest librettist that Bach ever worked with, and the cantata has a marvelous sense of discovery about it. It opens with a poignant sinfonia for oboe and strings, setting the mood and character for the moving opening chorus. The extreme expressivity of the choral parts is counteracted by the rigor of the chaconne bass. Thirty years after the composition of this cantata Bach remembered this chorus and arranged it as the Crucifixus in the Mass in B Minor....The great aria for oboe and alto solo is Bach’s first extended oboe solo and thus the beginning of a remarkable body of work… The soloists in the cantata will be Susan Consoli, soprano; Andrew Lipian, countertenor; William Hite, tenor; and Sumner Thompson, bass. Peggy Pearson’s arrangement of Franz Josef Haydn’s Quartet in C major, Op. 74, No. 1 will begin the concert, with the first violin part taken by the oboe. Additional instrumentalists in the concert are Heidi Braun-Hill, violin; Heather Braun, violin; Wenting Kang, viola; Rafael Popper-Keizer, cello; Susan Hagen, bass; and Michael Sponseller, harpsichord. For information and tickets, please call 781-863-2861 or visit

    St. Paul's Church

    15 St. Paul Street
    Brookline, MA

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    Tickets: $20 Seniors: $15 Age 9-18: Free

    General Day and Time Info:

    8:00 pm

    Phone: 781-863-2861

    Accessibility Information:

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2015 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback