Create Account


    MIT Wind Ensemble: Southern Notebook

    Presented by at MIT's Kresge Auditorium

    May 3, 2013


    MIT Wind Ensemble: Southern Notebook

    Southern Notebook. MIT Wind Ensemble. Frederick Harris, Jr., Music Director, Kenneth Amis, Assistant Conductor. World Premiere of Southern Notebook for piano and symphonic winds by MIT Senior Lecturer Charles Shadle. Anirudh Arun ’12, piano; Dvo?ák, trans. Amis, Slavonic Dance No. 1, op. 72; Schmidt, Hommage à Stravinsky; Ito, Gloriosa: Symphonic Poem for Winds; Brahms, trans. Boyd, Chorale Preludes nos. 7 & 8. 8pm, Kresge Auditorium. Free in advance; $5 cash at the door. Tickets at

    Southern Notebook is designed to celebrate the contributions of pianist and MIT senior Anirudh Arun to the MIT Wind Ensemble. Though the piano plays a prominent role, Southern Notebook is not a traditional concerto, but rather a cycle of eight short, interrelated character pieces. The movements, entitled “Cypress”, “Porch”, “Birmingham”, “Mountain Music, “Rag”, “Whirligig”, “Reprise” and “Invitation” are musical responses to images and experiences gleaned from a lifetime of travel in the American South.

    MIT's Kresge Auditorium

    48 Massachusetts Ave
    Cambridge, MA 02139

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    Free in advance/$5 at the door

    Phone: 617.253.2826

    Accessibility Information:

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2015 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback