Create Account


    Mendelssohn, Adès, Ives and Franck

    Presented by at Symphony Hall

    October 10 - October 12, 2013


    Mendelssohn, Adès, Ives and Franck

    English composer-conductor-pianist Thomas Adès returns to the BSO podium with more music of his own. He composed his symphonic poem Polaris in 2010; subtitled "Voyage for Orchestra," it calls for a spatial arrangement of the brass around the auditorium. The program begins with another "voyage" piece, Mendelssohn's Hebrides Overture, which describes the composer's reaction to the Scottish seascape he visited on a tour of the British Isles. Charles Ives's Orchestral Set No. 2 is a series of smaller tone poems on subjects from New England and New York, featuring his inimitable use of quotation and collage of popular tunes. The Thursday and Saturday concerts also include César Franck's powerful Symphony in D minor-his most enduring orchestral work.

    Symphony Hall

    301 Massachusetts Avenue
    Boston, MA 02115

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    $30.00 - $104.00

    Phone: 888-266-1200


    The Prudential Center Garage offers a discount to any patron holding a BSO or Pops ticket stub for that evening's performance if you enter the garage after 2pm. The address is 800 Boylston Street, Boston, MA.

    Parking is also available at the Westland Avenue Garage near Symphony Hall (35 Westland Avenue), Christian Science Center Garage (175 Huntington Avenue), and Gainsborough Garage (10 Gainsborough Street).

    Accessibility Information:

    Official Website

    Connect with this Organization:
    Facebook  |  Twitter  | 

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2015 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback