Login with Facebook         Create Account


    Wagner, Dello Joio and Shostakovich

    Presented by at Symphony Hall

    January 23 - January 25, 2014


    Wagner, Dello Joio and Shostakovich

    For his first full BSO subscription concerts, Latvian BSO Assistant Conductor Andris Poga is joined by eminent American pianist Garrick Ohlsson for the third newly commissioned work of the 2013-14 season, Justin Dello Joio's Piano Concerto. Ohlsson and New York-based composer Dello Joio were classmates at Juilliard; they recently collaborated on the composer's big Piano Sonata. The Piano Concerto is a joint commission of the BSO and the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France. Opening the program is Wagner's boisterous overture to his early opera Rienzi, composed partly in Riga, Latvia, and premiered 1842 in Dresden. Shostakovich's final symphony, No. 15, closes the program. The Russian composer wrote this piece in 1971.

    Symphony Hall

    301 Massachusetts Avenue
    Boston, MA 02115

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    $30.00 - $104.00

    Phone: 888-266-1200

    Accessibility Information:

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2015 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback