Create Account


    BCMS presents Handel, Mozart & Smetana

    Presented by at Sanders Theatre

    February 9, 2014


    BCMS presents Handel, Mozart & Smetana

    The Passacaglia that opens the program by Norwegian composer, conductor and violinist Johan Halvorsen is based on themes by Handel. Called by Einstein “one of his noblest works,” Mozart’s Divertimento was his first work for string trio and among the first substantial works composed for this combination. Smetana composed only four chamber works in his lifetime, all of great personal significance. Composed after the death of his daughter, the Piano Trio was his first and only chamber work until the string quartet 20 years later.   Handel-Halvorsen
    Passacaglia for Violin and Viola Mozart
    Divertimento for String Trio in E-flat major, K. 563 Smetana
    Piano Trio in G minor
    Featured Musicians Harumi Rhodes, violin
    Dimitri Murrath, viola
    Ronald Thomas, cello
    Mihae Lee, piano  

    Sanders Theatre

    45 Quincy Street
    Memorial Hall, Harvard University
    Cambridge, MA 02138

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    $23-$34-$45-$56 / Student:$8 / Senior: $4 off

    Phone: 617-349-0086


    Sanders Theatre/Memorial Hall is located at 45 Quincy Street, between Cambridge and Kirkland Streets in Cambridge, a 5 minute walk from Harvard Square.

    There is NO PARKING at Memorial Hall. For those traveling to Sanders Theatre by car, check the event listing to see which, if any, parking facility is available for the event you wish to attend.

    Accessibility Information: Currently, no accessibility information is available for this event.

    Official Website

    Connect with this Organization:
    Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Blog  |  DONATE

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2015 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback