Create Account


    BCMS at MIT: The Russian Brahms I

    Presented by at MIT's Kresge Auditorium

    December 13, 2013


    BCMS at MIT: The Russian Brahms I

    Enjoy with us the compelling pairing in two concerts at MIT of works by the real Brahms and the man known as the Russian Brahms, Sergei Taneyev. The many biographical and musical intersections of these two great Romantics, not to mention the physical resemblance, promise an unforgettable experience.

    We begin with the Brahms Clarinet Quintet which was premiered to such applause that the Adagio movement was performed again before the musicians were allowed to leave the stage. Taneyev’s Piano Quintet puts up a fight on a grand scale with more sound than one could ever expect from just five instruments.

    Brahms Clarinet Quintet in B minor, Op. 115

    Taneyev Piano Quintet in G minor, Op. 30

    Featured Musicians
    Romie de Guise-Langlois, clarinet
    Yura Lee, violin
    Ida Levin, violin
    Marcus Thompson, viola
    Ronald Thomas, cello
    Mihae Lee, piano

    MIT's Kresge Auditorium

    48 Massachusetts Ave
    Cambridge, MA 02139

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    General Admission: $35

    Seniors & WGBH members: $32

    Students: $10

    Phone: 617-349-0086

    Accessibility Information: Currently, no accessibility information is available for this event.

    Official Website

    Connect with this Organization:
    Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Blog  |  DONATE

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2015 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback