Create Account


    Degenerates & Copycats; Schoenberg, Chadley, and Shostakovich

    Presented by at Edward M. Pickman Concert Hall

    October 12, 2013


    Degenerates & Copycats; Schoenberg, Chadley, and Shostakovich

    The Third Reich called Arnold Schoenberg's music "degenerate." The Russian paper Pravda said Dmitri Shostakovich wrote "coarse, primitive and vulgar" compositions. Some of the most enduring music has come from artists under threat of political sanction, violence or worse. In the end, the composers won out. Their music has been played, replayed, repackaged and reimagined in every conceivable way.

    Cambridge Philharmonic's show "Degenerates & Copycats" celebrates these musical iconoclasts. Classical works will go head-to-head with electronic music and sampling culture. Tae Kim will solo on Shostakovich's sample-heavy first piano concerto, accompanied by trumpeter Kyle Spraker. Electro artist Chadley will lay down beats for the orchestra on the premiere of "Vacillations I." And Arnold Schoenberg's late-life rewrite of "Transfigured Night" will also be performed, a full-tilt overhaul of his most stormy and redemptive work.

    SCHOENBERG Transfigured Night

    CHADLEY Vacillations I. for live electronics & strings, world premiere and Cambridge Phil commission

    SHOSTAKOVICH Concerto for Piano, Trumpet & Strings,
    featuring Tae Kim, piano & Kyle Spraker, trumpet



    Edward M. Pickman Concert Hall

    27 Garden Street
    Cambridge, MA 02138

    Full map and directions

    Accessibility Information: Currently, no accessibility information is available for this event.

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2015 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback