Create Account


    Ogata & Watson: Beethoven and the Romantic Violin, 1801-1803

    Presented by at Salem Athenaeum

    February 1, 2014


    Ogata & Watson: Beethoven and the Romantic Violin, 1801-1803

     Susanna Ogata and Ian Watson are among the finest period-instrument specialists today. They bring us sonatas of Beethoven from a time of crisis and renewal, 1801-1803, performed on fortepiano and period violin. Emerging from a vale of profound despair at his deafness, Beethoven's vigorous spirit burst forth in a blaze of creative energy, which these sonatas exhibit gloriously. On the program are Violin Sonatas 4 and 9 "Kreuzer"), and Piano Sonata No. 12 ("Funeral March"), all beloved works heard in a new light. Here is a rare opportunity to hear the fortepiano, a historic instrument that preceded the modern piano, introduced by the charming Mr. Watson. A reception follows.

    Salem Athenaeum

    337 Essex Street
    Salem, MA 01970

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    $30 / $25 seniors & Athenaeum Members / students with ID free / Cash or checks only at the door. Credit cards accepted at web site,

    General Day and Time Info:

    Doors open at 7:30.

    Phone: 617-489-2062

    Accessibility Information: Currently, no accessibility information is available for this event.

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments


      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2015 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback