Create Account


    Ogata & Watson: Beethoven and the Romantic Violin, 1801-1803

    Presented by at Ascension Memorial Church

    February 2, 2014


    Ogata & Watson: Beethoven and the Romantic Violin, 1801-1803

     Susanna Ogata and Ian Watson are among the finest period-instrument specialists today. They bring us sonatas of Beethoven from a time of crisis and renewal, 1801-1803, performed on fortepiano and period violin. Emerging from a vale of profound despair at his deafness, Beethoven's vigorous spirit burst forth in a blaze of creative energy, which these sonatas exhibit gloriously. On the program are Violin Sonatas 4 and 9 ("Kreuzer"), and Piano Sonata No. 12 ("Funeral March"), all beloved works heard in a new light. Here is a rare opportunity to hear the fortepiano, a historic instrument that preceded the modern piano, introduced by the charming Mr. Watson. A reception follows.

    Ascension Memorial Church

    31 County Street
    Ipswich, MA 01938

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    $30 / $25 seniors / students with ID free /

    Cash or check only for tickets at the door. Credit cards accepted at the web site,

    General Day and Time Info:

    Doors open at 3:30. Parking across the street.

    Phone: 617-489-2062

    Accessibility Information:

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments


      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2015 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback