Create Account


    Boston Baroque: New Directions, "Monologues"

    Presented by at Edward M. Pickman Concert Hall

    March 29, 2014


    Boston Baroque: New Directions,

    From the Baroque to the Contemporary. An opportunity to explore and create synergy from opposing sides of the musical spectrum. Monologues will present the World Premier of Pearlman's Finnegans Wake: An Operoar (Act 3), in addition to music by Handel and Bach.

    Last year, Martin Pearlman's setting of James Joyce's Finnegans Wake was premiered to great acclaim, and this year, we premier a new act of the same work: a passage from Anna Livia's famous monologue that ends the book. Handel's gripping soliloquy by Agrippina, the mother of the emperor Nero, portrays her emotions as she is condemned to die, torn between hatred of Nero, the tyrant who has ordered her death, and love of Nero, her son, whose career she advanced by murdering her own husband. Finally, a monologue for unaccompanied violin, Bach’s glorious first sonata played by Boston Baroque concertmaster Christina Day Martinson.Complete program:

    Pearlman - Finnegans Wake: An Operoar (Act 3) WORLD PREMIERE
    Paula Plum, actress as Ana Livia

    Bach - Sonata No. 1 in G minor for unaccompanied violin
    Christina Day Martinson, violin

    Handel - Agrippina condotta a morire HWV110
    Julianne Gearhart, soprano

    Edward M. Pickman Concert Hall

    27 Garden Street
    Cambridge, MA 02138

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    Tickets $20 and $40. General admission, balcony and orchestra.

    Student tickets available for $5 and senior rush available for $10 at the door.

    Phone: (617) 987-8600 x413

    Accessibility Information:

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2015 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback