Login with Facebook         Create Account


    Andris Nelsons conducts Tchaikovsky, Dean and Stravinsky featuring Hakan Hardenberger

    Presented by at Symphony Hall

    November 13 - November 18, 2017


    Andris Nelsons conducts Tchaikovsky, Dean and Stravinsky featuring Hakan Hardenberger

    Andris Nelsons is joined here by another close collaborator, masterful Swedish trumpet virtuoso Hakan Hardenberger, for the American premiere of Brett Dean's trumpet concerto Dramatis personae. The Australian-born, Grawemeyer Award-winning composer wrote this concerto for Hardenberger, who gave its first performance in August 2013 in Austria. The idea of the title refers to the soloist's position as dramatic protagonist. Inspired by one of literature's most recognizable protagonists, Tchaikovsky's symphonic poem?Hamlet, which opens the program, is one of the composer's several intensely Romantic works based on Shakespeare. Stravinsky's groundbreaking, still-thrilling ballet score?The Rite of Spring, an orchestral tour de force, closes these concerts.

    Symphony Hall

    301 Massachusetts Avenue
    Boston, MA 02115

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    Tickets go on Sale Monday, August 4 10AM

    Individual Dates & Times: *
    Nov 13, 2017: 10:30 am (Mon)
    Nov 13, 2017: 8 pm (Mon)
    Nov 14, 2017: 8 pm (Tue)
    Nov 15, 2017: 8 pm (Wed)
    Nov 18, 2017: 8 pm (Sat)

    * Event durations (if noted) are approximate. Please check with the presenting organization or venue to confirm start times and duration.

    Phone: 888-266-1200

    Accessibility Information: Currently, no accessibility information is available for this event.

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

    Member Reviews

    There are currently no reviews/comments for this event. Be the first to add a review/comment , and let folks know what you think!

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2014 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback