Create Account


    Mercury Orchestra performs Prokofiev, Saint-Saëns, and Tchaikovsky

    Presented by at Sanders Theatre

    August 16, 2014


    Mercury Orchestra performs Prokofiev, Saint-Saëns, and Tchaikovsky

    Sergei Prokofiev: Symphony No. 1 “Classical”
    Camille Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No. 2
    Piotr Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 “Pathétique”

    Channing Yu, conductor
    Victor Xie, piano

    Prokofiev’s evanescent neoclassical turns, Saint-Saëns’ romantic era evocations of the baroque, and Tchaikovsky’s emotional, metaphysical exploration of the end of life are next stops on the nationally acclaimed Mercury Orchestra’s journey through musical time. This performance features 16-year-old pianist Victor Xie, winner of the 2014 Foundation for Chinese Performing Arts Concerto Competition.

    Sanders Theatre

    45 Quincy Street
    Memorial Hall, Harvard University
    Cambridge, MA 02138

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:

    $25 (regular); $20 (student/senior 65+/WGBH member/WBUR member/Harvard ID holder). Discounted advance tickets prior to day of event.

    General Day and Time Info:

    There will be a 15-minute intermission.

    Phone: 617-496-2222


    Sanders Theatre/Memorial Hall is located at 45 Quincy Street, between Cambridge and Kirkland Streets in Cambridge, a 5 minute walk from Harvard Square.

    There is NO PARKING at Memorial Hall. For those traveling to Sanders Theatre by car, check the event listing to see which, if any, parking facility is available for the event you wish to attend.

    Accessibility Information:

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2015 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback