Login with Facebook         Create Account

    MUSIC

    Joe Pernice

    Presented by at The Brattle Theatre

    August 5, 2009


    Bookmark


    Joe Pernice

    Massachusetts native Joe Pernice has been making records for 15 years as a solo artist, and as a member of the Scud Mountain Boys and Pernice Brothers. Ever versatile, he has also released a book of poetry and a novella. But, for the first time Joe is touring in support of a novel…with music. According to Pernice, “Though the book is not explicitly about music, there are quite a few cover and fictional songs mentioned, so I thought it would be a cool idea for me to record some of those songs and release them, as a soundtrack album to the novel.” In the vein of Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity, Pernice’s debut novel is a coming-of-age tale for the modern-day slacker, and an unlikely love story with a masculine perspective—but with a mordant humor and unexpected warmth. Pernice combines reading sections of the book with performing songs from the book/album to create an intimate and unique performance. Opening the show will be The Walsh Brothers, a Charlestown-bred, Los Angeles-based comedy duo, which has quickly become an underground sensation. The Walshes have created original internet content for Sony and are working with Comedy Central to develop a show about their lives. This will be their first rock tour.


    The Brattle Theatre

    40 Brattle St, Harvard Square
    Cambridge, MA 02138

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:
    $15.00


    General Day and Time Info:
    7:00 PM
    9:30 PM

    Phone: 617-876-4275


    Accessibility Information:


    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


         

      © 2014 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback