Login with Facebook         Create Account


    Metropolitan Wind Symphony Band Concert: Welcome Back, David

    Presented by at National Heritage Museum

    November 15, 2009


    Metropolitan Wind Symphony Band Concert: Welcome Back, David

    The Metropolitan Wind Symphony, New England's premier concert band, led by Music Director Lewis J. Buckley, will open its 39th exciting season. MWS Conductor Emeritus David J. Martins will make a return to our podium, conducting Joseph Wilcox Jenkins’ American Overture for Band, a classic band work. The remainder of the concert will be characterized by variety rather than a unifying theme. You’ll hear movie music by John Williams; Michael Daugherty’s exciting Bells for Stokowski; emerging wind composer Robert Denham’s Gregory Blues; and a marvelous Russian march, Slavianka. Solo tubist Matthew Brown, with whom MWS will record later in the season, will take the stage to perform two movements of Barbara York’s Concerto for Tuba. There will be a pre-concert lecture by MWS Music Director Lewis J. Buckley at 1:30 pm.

    National Heritage Museum

    33 Marrett Road
    Lexington, MA 02421

    Full map and directions

    Admission Info:
    Adults $15, Seniors $12, Students $5, general admission seating, tickets are available at the door

    General Day and Time Info:
    2 pm

    Accessibility Information:

    Official Website

    Facebook Comments

      • Massachusetts Vacation


      © 2014 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback