Login in with Facebook         Create Account

    Rave Reviews

    From sizzlin’ to fizzlin’, when it comes to Arts & Entertainment, everyone's got an opinion. And you'll see below that artsboston.org users are a vocal bunch! Familiar with a show? You can rate it, review it, or write anything you want about it, and help other folks to make a more informed decision.

    View reviews & comments for all events:
    Newest | Highest Rated | Archived (Expired Events)

    - OR -

    View reviews & comments by event name:

    Page:  First page of listings  Previous page of listings 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 Next page of listings  Last page of listings 

    Natalie MacMaster

    World Music/CRASHarts


    Event Name: Natalie MacMaster
    "Amazing"
    Comment posted by: World Music fan from Boston MA USA, Jun 01, 2009

    4th time I've seen her and she keeps getting better and better! This latest show was her best showing off her talent on the fiddle, tapping, and playing the piano. She is taking risks with her music... Expand

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    4th time I've seen her and she keeps getting better and better! This latest show was her best showing off her talent on the fiddle, tapping, and playing the piano. She is taking risks with her music and it shows - the evening was lively and a touch more contemporary than usual. Loved the visual backgrounds! Collapse

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    Spring Awakening

    Broadway Across America - Boston


    Event Name: Spring Awakening
    5 out of 5 stars rating "Spring Awakening Rocks!!"
    Review posted by: skot from skotf9@syracusenet.net, May 26, 2009

    I saw this show twice in Boston and loved it both times! Intelligent, relevant, dark, and important.

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    I saw this show twice in Boston and loved it both times! Intelligent, relevant, dark, and important.

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    Spring Awakening

    Broadway Across America - Boston


    Event Name: Spring Awakening
    4.5 out of 5 stars rating "Loved it"
    Review posted by: RichieBap from Boston, Ma 02111, May 25, 2009

    I loved every minute of this fresh musical on a topic that still baffles us today..The complexity of sexuality never gets old!..Everyone was GREAT!

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    I loved every minute of this fresh musical on a topic that still baffles us today..The complexity of sexuality never gets old!..Everyone was GREAT!

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    Spring Awakening

    Broadway Across America - Boston


    Event Name: Spring Awakening
    5 out of 5 stars rating "Best Musical since"
    Review posted by: Gwen from Boston, MA USA, May 25, 2009

    I don't go to the theater often, but when I do it's because I know I will be moved beyond my wildest emotion, which is exactly what happened. I have been a fan of Duncan Sheik since he first started... Expand

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    I don't go to the theater often, but when I do it's because I know I will be moved beyond my wildest emotion, which is exactly what happened. I have been a fan of Duncan Sheik since he first started as a musical artist. The music is what attracted me in the first place, but I never expected it to be this good. I went on the last day it was here, so I'm sure the actors were pumped with adrenaline making their performance flawless. When it was over I jumped to my feet in appreciation of their amazing talents both as singers and actors. My tears were flowing as the overwhelming feeling of happiness swept through me. Happy that I was fortunate enough to experience this work of art. Happy that the velvet voices I heard today actually exist. I would recommend this to anyone. Just know there are a couple of racy scenes lasting no longer than 2 minutes. I would see it again in a heartbeat. Collapse

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    Spring Awakening

    Broadway Across America - Boston


    Event Name: Spring Awakening
    5 out of 5 stars rating "Saw It Last Night, And Going AGAIN TOMORROW!!"
    Review posted by: Robert from Cambridge, MA, May 22, 2009

    I came into the show knowing next to nothing about it, and left totally thrilled! I can't wait to see it again tomorrow!

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    I came into the show knowing next to nothing about it, and left totally thrilled! I can't wait to see it again tomorrow!

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    Spring Awakening

    Broadway Across America - Boston


    Event Name: Spring Awakening
    4 out of 5 stars rating "excellent but not for everyone"
    Review posted by: jack from cambridge ma, May 18, 2009

    We loved the show superb music and acting...so glad it came to Boston, but it is not for everyone.

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    We loved the show superb music and acting...so glad it came to Boston, but it is not for everyone.

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    Spring Awakening

    Broadway Across America - Boston


    Event Name: Spring Awakening
    5 out of 5 stars rating "EXCELLENT"
    Review posted by: Barbara from Massachusetts, May 18, 2009

    The show was wonderful! The cast was great and energetic. The show was funny but also pulled on your heart strings at the same time.

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    The show was wonderful! The cast was great and energetic. The show was funny but also pulled on your heart strings at the same time.

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    Spring Awakening

    Broadway Across America - Boston


    Event Name: Spring Awakening
    5 out of 5 stars rating "Fantastic!"
    Review posted by: Katie from Marblehead, May 18, 2009

    I had seen the show on Broadway and was a little skeptical but this cast blew me away - the show was amazing and the tickets we got from BosTix.org were perfect! Overall a fantastic show - great... Expand

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    I had seen the show on Broadway and was a little skeptical but this cast blew me away - the show was amazing and the tickets we got from BosTix.org were perfect! Overall a fantastic show - great energy, beautiful singing, couldn't get enough!! I highly recommend seeing the show before they leave if you can! Collapse

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    Spring Awakening

    Broadway Across America - Boston


    Event Name: Spring Awakening
    5 out of 5 stars rating "The music is incredible!"
    Review posted by: DW from Boston, MA, May 13, 2009

    There wasn't a song I didn't love. Definitely recommend to everyone, especially if you like musicals like "Rent". Acting singing, choreography, everything was fantastic!

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    There wasn't a song I didn't love. Definitely recommend to everyone, especially if you like musicals like "Rent". Acting singing, choreography, everything was fantastic!

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    Spring Awakening

    Broadway Across America - Boston


    Event Name: Spring Awakening
    4.5 out of 5 stars rating "I know why its a TONY WINNER!!"
    Review posted by: Mark from BOSTON, MA. USA, May 11, 2009

    I was pleasantly surprised, LOVED the music especially Bitch of Living and Totally F*cked! It's modern, fun, dark, and amazing! Great cast and GREAT singers!

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    I was pleasantly surprised, LOVED the music especially Bitch of Living and Totally F*cked! It's modern, fun, dark, and amazing! Great cast and GREAT singers!

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    Spring Awakening

    Broadway Across America - Boston


    Event Name: Spring Awakening
    4 out of 5 stars rating "Though plot wanting, musical soars!!"
    Review posted by: Rick McHale from Boston, MA, May 11, 2009

    My girlfriend and I took a niece apiece to "Spring Awakening" for their mutual college graduation presents. I did my homework and let all know what to expect (simulated masturbation & duo copulation,... Expand

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    My girlfriend and I took a niece apiece to "Spring Awakening" for their mutual college graduation presents. I did my homework and let all know what to expect (simulated masturbation & duo copulation, exposed T&A; and a [great] song called "Totally F**ked") to reduce the squirm factor for the Uncle and Aunt taking them. We survived those parts. Whew!!! I have to say the music, performances, choreography, staging, and lighting and overall ensemble cast were very worthy of a night out at the theater. I was surprised to find that the book was written in the late 1890s. So to call the plot cliche (which was my original thought) is probably unfair. One could say it was ahead of it's time. It did try to cover a lot of ground, but...no matter. For me and our party, the music, performances, choreography and staging were the reason for experiencing this play. Very entertaining, humorous, and well received play. We all (the whole audience) gave them a standing ovation. Collapse

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    Strangers on a Train

    Stoneham Theatre


    Event Name: Strangers on a Train
    5 out of 5 stars rating "Don't miss it!"
    Review posted by: Terri from Methuen, MA, May 11, 2009

    This is an edge-of-your-seat thriller with superb acting.

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    This is an edge-of-your-seat thriller with superb acting.

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    Strangers on a Train

    Stoneham Theatre


    Event Name: Strangers on a Train
    4.5 out of 5 stars rating "Strangers on a Train"
    Review posted by: Miguel Soares from Wakefield, MA, May 11, 2009

    Stoneham Theater offers a delightful experience with the production Strangers on a Train. Even if you are familiar with Hitchcock's movie version, the original play rendering is longer and a bit... Expand

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    Stoneham Theater offers a delightful experience with the production Strangers on a Train. Even if you are familiar with Hitchcock's movie version, the original play rendering is longer and a bit more explanatory. To deliver a fantastic experience, Stoneham Theatre has a group of outstanding performers, impressive setting and sound, comfortable seating and friendly staff. Treat yourself and hurry there to become familiar with those Strangers. Collapse

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    Spring Awakening

    Broadway Across America - Boston


    Event Name: Spring Awakening
    2 out of 5 stars rating "Not a Must-See"
    Review posted by: Karen from Andover, MA, May 11, 2009

    This show underwhelmed me. The myriad of themes were just too heavy to be given such short shrift. I was also disappointed with the acting, with the exception of Moritz played by Blake Bashoff. Ever a... Expand

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    This show underwhelmed me. The myriad of themes were just too heavy to be given such short shrift. I was also disappointed with the acting, with the exception of Moritz played by Blake Bashoff. Ever a Duncan Shiek fan, I couldn't even walk out singing a tune. Collapse

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    Spring Awakening

    Broadway Across America - Boston


    Event Name: Spring Awakening
    5 out of 5 stars rating "Spring Awakening is Electrifying"
    Review posted by: Susan W. from Boston, MA, May 11, 2009

    From the plaintive opening song to the elegiacal conclusion, I was captivated by Spring Awakening's timeless relevance and outstanding performances. The music, the dance, the costumes, set, story and... Expand

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    From the plaintive opening song to the elegiacal conclusion, I was captivated by Spring Awakening's timeless relevance and outstanding performances. The music, the dance, the costumes, set, story and casting--I loved it all! Adolesence tests us all and demands that we summon all resilience to cope. Do not miss this ode to coming of age! Collapse

    All reviews/comments and complete event details

    Page:  First page of listings  Previous page of listings 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 Next page of listings  Last page of listings 

    Write a Review/Comment

     

    Ready to write your own? It's easy! You can write a post about any event that is either current/upcoming, or ended within the last 2 weeks.

    1. Select an event from the drop down box below, and click "go."
    2. Fill out the popup window form, (leave your email address if you want to know when we approve your post) and click "post."
    3. Your post will be reviewed and should be approved in less than 24hrs!

      • State & Local Resources

        Massachusetts Vacation


         

      © 2013 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback